Chipolopolo striker Patson Daka is part of  Leicester City’s 25 member registered squad for the 2023/2024 English Championship season. 

According to the list confirmed by the English Football League (EFL) and monitored by the ZamFoot Crew, Daka has been registered for the season. 

The Zambian international nearly left Leicestershire during the transfer window with Bournemouth almost snatching him on loan on transfer deadline day. 

Daka was also linked with a move to Italian Serie A side AC Milan the night before transfer deadline day. 

Daka was the chosen one for Rossoneri who wanted to sign a striker during the transfer window.

The 19 time Serie A Champion is believed to have offered 2 million for the players loan and 1.8 million for his salary.

After holding talks with AC Milan, the Zambian looked on course to move to the Vitality Stadium until the deal broke down around 25 minutes before the cut-off.

Daka was also linked with moves to Everton, French Ligue 1 side AS Monaco and Jose Mourinhos AS Roma.

City manager Enzo Maresca sounded unsure if the Zambian striker could still leave the club after the failure of his deadline day deal which worried Zambian fans as he is Chipolopolo’s main striker. 

With his registration confirmed by the league Chipolopolo fans will now rest easy. 

Players who were born before 2002 have to be registered according to the English Football League rules, with loanees also requiring registration regardless of their age. 

That left Leicester with 26 senior players who would require registration, meaning one man would have to be left out.

It has now been confirmed that goalkeeper Alex Smithies is the man who has failed to make the cut and not the Zambian international.

 Smithies is now fifth-choice at the club, following the summer arrival of Mads Hermansen and promotion of Jakub Stolarczyk.

New signing Tom Cannon, plus youngsters Wanya Marcal-Madivadua and Ben Nelson, are considered Under-21 players and so do not need to be registered to play in the Championship.

The rules however mean development squad defender Shane Flynn, who was born in 2001, is ineligible to feature in the league.

Below are the 25 players registered by City for this season:

Yunus Akgun

Marc Albrighton

Cesare Casadei

Hamza Choudhury

Conor Coady

Patson Daka 

Kiernan Dewsbury-Hall

Callum Doyle

Wout Faes

Mads Hermansen

Kelechi Iheanacho

Abdul Fatawu Issahaku

Daniel Iversen

James Justin

Stephy Mavididi

Kasey McAteer

Wilfred Ndidi

Ricardo Pereira

Dennis Praet

Harry Souttar

Jakub Stolarczyk

Jamie Vardy

Jannik Vestergaard

Danny Ward

Harry Winks

By ZamFoot