Opponents Watch: Harambee Starlets enter camp after temporal set back, Sports CS pays them a courtesy call

News Sports

Zambia Women’s national team opponents in the fourth round of the 2020 Tokyo Olympics Kenya have returned back to camp after their camp was temporarily called off by the Football Kenya Federation due to lack of funds.

FKF President Nick Mwendwa told a presser on Tuesday, that it was a difficult decision to withdraw the team due to financial constraints and blamed the Ministry of Sports and Culture Permanent Secretary Mr. Kirimi Kaberia for not living to his promise of settling the national teams allowances, Futaa.com reports.

After numerous engagements with the Cabinet Secretary for Sports, Ambassador Amina Mohamed, the government directed Starlets to report for the training camp on Thursday, October 31st which coach David Ouma and his ladies did and today they received a visit from Sports Cabinet Secretary Amina Mohamed.

The Sports Cabinet Secretary urged the team to work hard and fly the Country’s flag high as winners.

“I am happy to come and visit you today as the Harambee Starlets team and wish you good luck in the game against Zambia, she said.

We as the Government will create a suitable environment for the national team players to represent us as winners and hold our flag high.”

The Harambee Starlets will host the Copper Queens in the first leg of the encounter which will be played on November 8th at the MISC Kasarani with the return leg scheduled for November 12th, at the Nkoloma Stadium in Lusaka, Zambia.



Annette Kundu (Eldoret Falcons), Judith Osimbo (Gaspo Women), Wilfrida Seda (Vihiga Queens), Monica Odato (Wadadia)


Vivian Nasaka (Vihiga Queens), Dorcas Shikobe (Oserian Ladies), Lydia Akoth (Thika Queens), Lucy Akoth (Mathare United Women), Ruth Ingosi (Eldoret Falcons), Wincate Kaari (Gaspo Women), Nelly Sawe (Thika Queens), Dorcas Shiveka (Eldoret Falcons), Sylvia Lumasia (Kibera Girls Soccer Academy)


Jentrix Shikangwa (Wiyeta Girls), Cynthia Shilwatso (Vihiga Queens), Sheril Angachi (Gaspo Women), Corazone Aquino (Gaspo Women), Mwanalima Adam (Thika Queens), Elizabeth Wambui (Gaspo Women), Providence Kasiala (Wiyeta Girls)


Topistar Situma (Vihiga Queens), Bertha Omita (Kisumu All Starlets), Mercy Airo (Kisumu All Starlets), Janet Bundi (Eldoret Falcons)