Napsa Stars beat Buildcon to open a two-point lead

News Sports

” width=”720″>

Napsa Stars have moved to the summit of the log following a 2-0 win over Buildcon on Friday afternoon at Woodlands Stadium.

The Pensioners were hit with a big blow prior to the match as 15 players COVID-19 results came out positive but Fathi had a good enough squad to go ahead and battle Team Kopala.

Napsa Stars started strong and were ahead just after seven minutes, Collins Sikombe put them ahead with a close-range finish after a cross from the right-wing found him in acres of space inside the box.

Buildcon started to come back into the game after they conceded with Teofanov Sasa, Eric Owusu, and Najeeb Abbas pulling the strings in the middle of the park.

Napsa Stars were also pushing for a second goal but Ngosa Sunzu’s partnership with Isaac Shamujompa and Tresor Ndjomo Ndjana between the sticks were excellent on the day. Fathi was forced to make an early substitution after Tapson Kaseba was injured and Bornwell Mwape came on to take his place.

Danny Silanvwe could have doubled the lead minutes before half time but Ndjana made a brilliant save to keep the match at 1-0 going into the break.

In Second half, Buildcon came back stronger but Napsa Stars were also up to the task. Musonda Kapembwa was brought in the 68th minute and six later he won Napsa Stars a penalty, Sikombe stepped up and put it away with ease.

The Pensioners held on to win the match 2-0 and move two points clear of Nkana at the summit of the log. Nkana can easily reclaim the top slot if they manage to beat Red Arrows tomorrow at Nkoloma Stadium.

Napsa Stars Starting line up: Rabson Muchelenganga, Amos Simwanza, Mwepu Patient, Nguni Luka, Luka Banda, Dickson Chapa, Nkhata Simon, Silanvwe Danny, Kaseba Tapson, Collins Sikombe, Sikaumbwe John.

Bench: Banda Philip, Zulu Keegan, Mwape Bornwell, Numba Mwape, Daniel Adoko, Mayuka Emmanuel, Mathews Maleka, Simon Chipanama, Stanley Sichangala, Kapembwa Musonda.

Buildcon starting line up:

Lionel Tresor Ndjomo Ndjana, Gilroy Takudzwa, Chimwemwe, Paul Musumali, Ngosa Sunzu, Isaac Shamujompa, Najeeb Abbas, Eric Owusu, Joel Welcome Ngodzo, Chanda Mushili, Mpho Michael Mathekgane, Teofanov Sasa.

Bench: Martin Mwamba Jr, Eric Kabulo Ngoy, Diaby Ibrahima, Jamal Jafaru, Donald Spanner Teguru, Abbedy Biramahire, Mwinde Emmanuel.