The draw for the next’s African Cup of Nations will be held in Abidjan on 12 October, 2023.

The 24 qualified countries will divided into 8 groups .

Despite having missed the last three editions, Zambia is expected to be in Pot 2.

Five Southern African countries

2012 Champions and record Cosafa Champions Zambia lead the Southern African contingent which also includes South Africa , Namibia, Mozambique and Angola heading to Abidjan.

West Africa dominance continues

West Africa will have 10 countries at the tournament with hosts Ivory Coast being joined by holders Senegal, Burkina Faso, Ghana, Gambia, Guinea Bissau, Guinea, Mali, Mauritania and Nigeria.

East Africa will be represented by one country

Tanzania will be East African’s sole representative at the tournament.

This will be the Taifa Stars’ second finals.

North Africa quartet are contenders

Africas first FIFA World Cup Semi-finalists Morocco will be looking to duplicate their performances in Qatar.

Algeria, Egypt, Morocco and Tunisia


Cote dIvoire (hosts), Algeria, Angola, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cape Verde, DR Congo, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Tunisia & Zambia.

The draw will be held in Abidjan on 12 October

By ZamFoot